Young Science Journalists Award


The young science journalists award is given in memory of Ev Clark, a veteran journalist at Business Week, The New York Times and Newsweek, and Seth Payne, his long-time friend and colleague at Business Week and a founder of the award.

It is designed to carry on the work of both men, who offered friendship and advice to generations of young journalists.

The award is limited to non-technical, print and online journalism.

Articles published in newspapers (including college newspapers), magazines, newsletters and websites are eligible.

Both freelancers and staff writers are eligible.

Science writing includes, but is not limited to, writing in the biological, physical, environmental, computer, and space sciences, along with technology, mathematics, health and science policy.

The deadline is on 30 June 2020.

Main criteria

  • Entries will be judged on the basis of accuracy, clarity, insightfulness, fairness, resourcefulness, and timeliness
  • Applicants must be age 30 or younger
  • The 2020 award will be limited to those applicants whose 31st birthday is July 1, 2020 or later
  • Articles must be published between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020
  • Applications may be submitted by the author or on the author’s behalf. All entries must be submitted in English

Find out more about the Young Science Journalists Award and other available competitions.

Photo: Shutterstock / edited by: Martina Advaney

Read more here.

Award for Journalist: Young World Journalist of the Year

Share this post

Interested in co-operating with us?

We are open to co-operation from writers and businesses alike. You can reach us on our email at and we will get back to you as quick as we can.

Where to next?

Climate Science Olympiad

Young people from around the world are invited to participate in a climate science Olympiad. Finalists will receive monetary prizes and attend the UN Climate Summit in Glasgow, Scotland. The…

UN Global Climate Action Awards

Organisations, businesses, universities, governments and others taking bold leadership on climate change can nominate their work for a special 10th anniversary edition of the UN Global Climate Action Awards. The…

ELTons Innovation Awards 2021

Professionals in English language education around the world – educators, leaders, publishers, project managers, writers and authors – are invited to apply for the prestigious, international awards that celebrate new…