Allianz Climate Risk Research Award 2020

Win your opportunity

Allianz is a German multinational financial services company headquartered in Munich, Germany. Its core businesses are insurance and asset management. The Allianz Climate Risk Research Award supports scientific research that improves their understanding of climate change-related risks. The 2020 Award focuses on how science can help insurers deal with extreme weather and climate risks.

The Award is intended to support researchers whose research focuses on reducing the risk of extreme weather events that are intensified by climate change and fostering resilience by applying technological solutions. The four finalists receive monetary award of EUR 7,000, EUR 5,000, EUR 3,000, and EUR 2,000, respectively. Additionally, finalists will receive an invitation for a one-day award event in Munich with all costs covered. Proposals will be evaluated based on innovation, impact, applicability and academic excellence. Candidates will need to demonstrate a compelling approach for assessing risks of natural catastrophes and advancing current practices around societal resilience.

The deadline is on 31 August 2020.


Main criteria

  • Participation is open to university students currently pursuing either a PhD degree or a post-doc, as well as recent PhD graduates or recent post-doc graduates
  • Supporting documents include a two-page non-technical essay based on their research, a letter of recommendation from the candidate’s academic mentor, and filled and signed declaration form

Photo: Shutterstock / Edited by: Martina Advaney


Find out more about: Allianz Climate Risk Research Award, other available opportunities.

The HOPE Challenge – an Entrepreneurial Competition for Middle Schoolers


Share this post

Interested in co-operating with us?

We are open to co-operation from writers and businesses alike. You can reach us on our email at and we will get back to you as quick as we can.

Where to next?

Climate Science Olympiad

Young people from around the world are invited to participate in a climate science Olympiad. Finalists will receive monetary prizes and attend the UN Climate Summit in Glasgow, Scotland. The…

UN Global Climate Action Awards

Organisations, businesses, universities, governments and others taking bold leadership on climate change can nominate their work for a special 10th anniversary edition of the UN Global Climate Action Awards. The…

ELTons Innovation Awards 2021

Professionals in English language education around the world – educators, leaders, publishers, project managers, writers and authors – are invited to apply for the prestigious, international awards that celebrate new…