UN Global Climate Action Awards

The annual UN Global Climate Action Award programme, run by United Nations Climate Change since 2011, recognises the world’s most innovative, scalable and replicable examples of action to tackle climate change.

This year’s awards will showcase people and projects taking bold and effective climate action in the areas of climate neutrality, innovative climate finance and climate leadership.

The 2021 award winners will be celebrated at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP 26) in Glasgow, Scotland, in November – the most important climate conference since the Paris Agreement was adopted in 2015.

A special new award category called ‘Climate Leaders’ has been added for 2021. It will recognise transformational and replicable government action and ambition at any level (national, regional, city, town, etc.).

The deadline is on Friday 30th April 2021. 


Main Criteria

If your institution has successfully implemented a project, initiative, programme or other activity that addresses climate change mitigation or adaptation, you are eligible to apply. 

Initiatives should focus on successful financial innovations for climate change adaption and mitigation, efforts by individuals and governments. 

Find out more now.

Photo: Shutterstock

Want another opportunity to get your teeth into? How about this?

French-African Foundation Young Leaders Programme

Share this post

Interested in co-operating with us?

We are open to co-operation from writers and businesses alike. You can reach us on our email at cooperations@youth-time.eu and we will get back to you as quick as we can.

Where to next?

Climate Science Olympiad

Young people from around the world are invited to participate in a climate science Olympiad. Finalists will receive monetary prizes and attend the UN Climate Summit in Glasgow, Scotland. The…

ELTons Innovation Awards 2021

Professionals in English language education around the world – educators, leaders, publishers, project managers, writers and authors – are invited to apply for the prestigious, international awards that celebrate new…