Google News Initiative Innovation Challenge in the Middle East, Turkey & Africa Regions

The second Google News Initiative (GNI) Innovation Challenge in the Middle East, Turkey & Africa region focuses on reader engagement and new business models in any form.

As before, Google will fund selected projects up to USD $150,000 and will finance up to 70% of the total project cost. 

Applicants are asked to provide descriptions, detailed project plans and budget information via the online application form.

All ideas are welcome but we require all projects to have clear indicators showing the impact of the project from a user perspective and/or from a business perspective (e.g. audience indicators and business plan when relevant).

Successful projects will also need to be delivered within one year.

The deadline is on Monday 12th April 2021.


Main Criteria

The challenge is open to organisations of every size, including freelancers and sole traders, that aim to produce innovative, original journalism and to enlighten citizens with trustworthy journalistic content, whose projects focus on encouraging a more sustainable news ecosystem.

Find out more about this opportunity now. 

Fancy another challenge? This time with the UN.

UN Global Climate Action Awards

Share this post

Interested in co-operating with us?

We are open to co-operation from writers and businesses alike. You can reach us on our email at and we will get back to you as quick as we can.

Where to next?

Climate Science Olympiad

Young people from around the world are invited to participate in a climate science Olympiad. Finalists will receive monetary prizes and attend the UN Climate Summit in Glasgow, Scotland. The…

UN Global Climate Action Awards

Organisations, businesses, universities, governments and others taking bold leadership on climate change can nominate their work for a special 10th anniversary edition of the UN Global Climate Action Awards. The…

ELTons Innovation Awards 2021

Professionals in English language education around the world – educators, leaders, publishers, project managers, writers and authors – are invited to apply for the prestigious, international awards that celebrate new…