Global Peace Photo Award


Works should capture human efforts towards a peaceful world and the quest for beauty and goodness. The award is organized by Edition Lammerhuber, a publishing house in Baden near Vienna, Austria in partnership with UNESCO, Austrian Parliament, et al.

Inspired by Nobel Peace Laureates 1911 Alfred Fried and Tobias Asser, the award celebrates all kinds of pacifism and disarmament of individuals and society as a whole. The top five listed photographers will receive the Alfred Fried Peace Medal. The winner will receive €10,000.

The winning picture will be on display for one year at the Austrian Parliament and will be included in the permanent art collection of the Austrian Parliament. All winners will go to Vienna to the award ceremony at the Austrian Parliament on 17 September 2020.

The deadline is on 24 May 2020.


Main criteria

  • The Global Peace Photo Award is open to all photographers from anywhere in the world
  • Digital submissions must be saved as .jpg, with more than 3000 pixels on the longest side
  • Images must not include any embedded marks, logos, names or borders
  • You may enter several photographs as individual submissions without an overall theme. Or you can submit up to 20 photographs as one story.

Find out more

Photo: Shutterstock / edited by: Martina Advaney

Share this post

Interested in co-operating with us?

We are open to co-operation from writers and businesses alike. You can reach us on our email at and we will get back to you as quick as we can.

Where to next?

Climate Science Olympiad

Young people from around the world are invited to participate in a climate science Olympiad. Finalists will receive monetary prizes and attend the UN Climate Summit in Glasgow, Scotland. The…

UN Global Climate Action Awards

Organisations, businesses, universities, governments and others taking bold leadership on climate change can nominate their work for a special 10th anniversary edition of the UN Global Climate Action Awards. The…

ELTons Innovation Awards 2021

Professionals in English language education around the world – educators, leaders, publishers, project managers, writers and authors – are invited to apply for the prestigious, international awards that celebrate new…