Cereal Grains Prepared Thirteen Different Ways – Part I

Last week we opened the topic of Cereal Grains with rice. This time we confine ourselves to those with gluten – Wheat, Oats, Barley and Rye. The next week we will close with gluten free grains.

Oats in this category are gluten grains because these are a little complicated. Only under certain compliance of rules can they be labeled as gluten free. Oats contain a similar protein as other gluten grains which is called Avenin and can cause intolerance to those who suffer from Celiac Disease. 

Bread (Wheat bread, rye bread…)


Cakes

Barley risotto and similar czech dish called Kuba

Barley risotto


Mushroom Kuba

Tabbouleh (from bulgur made from durum wheat)

Pasta


Seitan (wheat gluten “meat”)

Muesli bars


Oatmeal porridge


Oatmeal cookies


Sprouted grains


Upma (made from semolina)

Rye flour pancakes 

Read also our articles about eggspotatoesmilk and rice.

Photos: Shutterstock

Share this post

Interested in co-operating with us?

We are open to co-operation from writers and businesses alike. You can reach us on our email at cooperations@youth-time.eu and we will get back to you as quick as we can.

Where to next?